English Language Proficiency Scores



IELTS resumes testing: TESL Canada has received notification that the IELTS testing centers have re-opened in Canada. Their message included the following information:

Dear Colleagues, Our priority is to always ensure the safety and well-being of our test takers and employees whilst also trying to minimise disruption to life-changing opportunities for international higher education and migration for test takers, by following the instructions from authorities and managing our activities according to official guidelines for Covid-19. We are grateful for your patience and understanding.

TESL Canada has extended the acceptance of the online IELTS Indicator until the end of 2020 even though centres are open in some places.


Important: At this point in time, the online test (IELTS indicator) will be accepted by TESL Canada for proof of English Language Proficiency until IELTS centres reopen in Canada. 

Important: From October 1st, 2015 onwards TESL Canada will accept only IELTS Academic and TOEFL iBT. TESL Canada only accepts valid official scores. Any ELP test result provided must be current (scores completed more than two calendar years prior will not be accepted).



English Lang Proficiency Tests     

Score – Program Trainees

TOEFL iBT Overall 101 with a minimum of 23 in Listening, 24 in Reading, 27 in Speaking and 27 in Writing
IELTS Academic

Overall 7 with a minimum of 7 in each skill area

*IELTS Indicator will be accepted as a valid proof of English Language Proficiency until F2F testing centres reopen Overall 7 with a minimum of 7 in each skill area

Or completion of an undergraduate degree from an English-speaking university  in one of the following countries: Canada, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Cameroon, Dominica, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, Nigeria, New Zealand, Republic of Ireland, Saint Kitts-Nevis, St. Lucia, St.Vincent, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, United Kingdom, United States, Uganda, US Virgin Islands, Zambia, Zimbabwe.